http://blog.epicedits.com/2007/12/10/16-inspirational-portrait-photography-techniques/

I especially like the texture in this photograph. Like i am drawn to the regularity of archetecture, i am similarly attracted to the texture and patterns of old faces and clothing. The photo becomes visually STIMULATING, not just appealing. i find myself wandering down the woman’s face via the paths of her wrinkles; the variations in her skin entice me to take in every aspect of her face clothes and demeanor.

I also like the concept of unusual poses, expressions and camera angles. However, i think these can be tricks to attract attention, but not hold it for an acceptable length of time. The interesting angle or pose can be a nice hook; it will grab the viewer but doesn’t provide much depth. I think this is when other compositional and design elements would be effective.

